Wande Coal’s ‘The Kick lands at the top of MTV Base official Naija Top 10 + NET’s Osagie Alonge is studio guest!

Read more

By Abiodun Omigie

VJ Ehis and NET's Osagie Alonge on the set of the MTV Base Official Naija Top 10. Photo: BHM
VJ Ehis and NET’s Osagie Alonge on the set of the MTV Base Official Naija Top 10. Photo: BHM

Wande Coal is sitting pretty at the top of the MTV Base Official Naija Top Ten powered by Star Music this week with his music video for monster hit ‘The Kick, featuring Don Jazzy and directed by Sesan.

The hypnotic dancefloor filler finally displaces Kcee’s Limpopo’ which drops out of the charts altogether after three impressive weeks at number one.

Special guest Osagie Alonge from Nigerian Entertainment Today (NET) is on the Official Naija Top 10 sofa this week to discuss the week’s music chart with VJ Ehis 

This week’s biggest climber is Ice Prince with ‘VIP’; the 2013 BET Award winner climbed three places from number 9 to number 6, overtaking 2Face’s ‘Dancefloor’, also on its way up, at number 7.  Flavour jumps two places to number 5 thanks to the continuing appeal of ‘Chinny Baby’, and D’Prince also moves up two slots with his ‘Goody Bag’.

Koko master D’Banj is this week’s only new entry, checking in at number 10 with “Don’t Tell Me Nonsense”, while last week’s new entry, PSquare, moves up one place from number 10 to number 9 with ‘Personally’.

Position Artist Song
1 Wande Coal The Kick
2 Iyanya Sexy Mama
3 Dprince Goody Bag
4 Wizkid Azonto
5 Flavour Chinny Baby
6 Ice Prince VIP
7 2face Dance Floor
8 Lynxxx Eziokwu
9 PSquare Personally
10 D’banj Don’t tell me nonsense

Every week, the Official Naija Top 10 is put together by an elite judging panel of Nigerian broadcasters, music specialists and tastemakers, working with MTV Base to pick the winners and losers in the week’s chart. On the panel are Onos Ovueraye (Bella Naija.com), DJ Humility (Rhythm FM), DJ Jimmy Jatt, DJ Xclusive (Cool FM), Big Time (Rhythm FM), DJ Caise (The Beat FM), Toolz (The Beat FM) and Osagie Alonge (Nigerian Entertainment Today).

This week’s Official Naija Top 10 premiered on MTV Base on NTA on Friday 12 July, and can be seen on MTV Base (DStv Channel 322) on Tuesday 16 July @22.00 WAT, on AIT on Tuesday 16 July @ 21.30 WAT, and on STV  on Thursday 18 July @ 18.00 WAT.  Next week’s chart will be revealed on Friday 19 July on NTA @ 23.30 WAT.

Ⓒ Copyright NET News Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Please use sharing tools. Do not cut, copy or lift any content from this website without our consent.

More related posts